Back in October 2010 I finished a series of posts on this blog I called Tales of redemption through improvement at work.  They described how

  • real people in the public service transformed the service they gave their customers
  • they were enabled to transform their own working lives
  • they also made their work more efficient as an inevitable consequence of providing better service (something many managers still think is a contradiction in terms).

My stories got a good response (thanks folks) and 2011 is the year I take the ideas to the next stage.

In Tales of redemption through improvement at work – a conclusion: What these wonderful people have taught me I drew out eight lessons from what I’d learned.  In a self-denying ordinance I deliberately described each lesson in a single sentence.

That made for good reading but hardly did justice to each lesson.

So over the next few months I’ll be publishing eight posts under the general heading Redemption lessons expanded.

Each will start with what my conclusion was last time round and then add some further thoughts.  They’ll be based on practical experience and my own learning.

From the old...

That career began (confession time) when I shared a single phone with two other colleagues in a planning office and had to wait in a queue to plead with the operator (young people – this was a sort of call centre associate without the technology) for an “outside line”.

Before I left local government to set up my own business new graduates were asking in peeved tones on their first day at work where their laptop and Blackberry were.

...to the new

Changed times and, we hope, better times.

But human behaviour and aspirations in many ways remain constant.

Find out how – and maybe hear a few more stories – over the next months.  Redemption lessons expanded: No. 1 – leadership follows later this month.

Enjoy.

